This past year I had been in a huge reading slump, but then I stumbled across this book on the shelf. I had never heard of the title or author, but the cover illustration was gorgeous so I gave it a shot...and wow, am I glad I did!

Half-Witch is a fantastical, intricate, and twisted tale that captivated me from start to finish. The world Schoftstall built is full of wonderfully strange details and lovingly crafted characters. Usually if I get really into a book I'll devour it all in one sitting, but Half-Witch was so rich it made me want to read slowly to savor it.

Highly recommend if you like: dark fantasy folktales, witches, a spoonful of religious imagery, a hint of queer romance, lyrical writing, or coming of age stories. For fans of Catherynne Valente & Neil Gaiman!

LPL_CentennialC's rating:
[]
[]
To Top