"The Years Have Pants" : (a Life-sized Omnibus)

Graphic Novel - 2009
Average Rating:
Rate this:
For the first time ever, the pioneering autobiographical comics of master cartoonist Eddie Campbell (From Hell) are collected in a single volume! Brilliantly observed and profoundly expressed, the ALEC stories present a version of Campbell's own life, filtered through the alter ego of "Alec MacGarry." Over many years, we witness Alec's (and Eddie's) progression "from beer to wine" - wild nights at the pub, existential despair, the hunt for love, the quest for art, becoming a "responsible breadwinner," feeling lost at his own movie premiere, and much more! Eddie's outlandish fantasies and metafictional tricks convert life into art, while staying fully grounded in his own absurdity. This Life-Size Omnibus edition of ALEC includes all the stories from The King Canute Crowd, Three-Piece Suit, How to be an Artist, and After the Snooter, as well as the very early, out-of-print ALEC stories and a staggering amount of bonus material.
Publisher: Marietta, GA : Top Shelf Productions, c2009.
ISBN: 9781603090476
Branch Call Number: GN CAMPBELL
Characteristics: 638 pages : chiefly illustrations ; 26 cm.
Alternative Title: Years have pants


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Sep 28, 2016

Probably best known for his collaboration with Alan Moore on the extraordinary From Hell, Eddie Campbell, serving as both writer and artist, first gained acclaim for Alec, the thinly-veiled autobiographical adventures of a Scottish artist. Alec :The Years Have No Pants collects all of the very frank, often humorous previously published tales plus a new story. While all the stories showcase Campbell's distinctive art, the highlight of this impressive book derives from the evolution of the artist. Midway through the 638 page volume, the realization dawns that Eddie Campbell may be one of the field's most accomplished storytellers.

Mark_Daly Nov 16, 2013

Campbell is a master of autobiographical comics, with a deft, often breathtaking way with a line and a sophisticated Scottish storytelling wit that places him in a different universe than the likes of Crumb, Pekar or Sacco. This unwieldy hardcover collection puts his best work in chronological order to show the shape of four decades of his life, starting with the Alec stories that made his reputation in the London small-press scene in the 1980s. It's nice to get reacquainted with the more obscure pieces, such as "Graffiti Kitchen," his raw, downbeat follow-up to the Alec books. However, the minor compilations "Little Italy" and "The Dead Muse" suffer in comparison to the rest of the content, and others, such as "Life of the Artist" and, indeed, the Alec volumes themselves, are just as satisfying, if not more so, when experienced as standalone pieces. I suppose it's nice to have all the interrelated stories handy under one cover, but the book's high page count and its sheer size and weight don't make it particularly convenient.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings

No similar edition of this title was found at LPL.

Try searching for Alec to see if LPL owns related versions of the work.

To Top