Mama Flora's Family

Mama Flora's Family

A Novel

Book - 1998
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
In the tradition of "Roots" and "Queen, Mama Flora's Family" is a sweeping epic of contemporary American history, culled from the unpublished works of award-winning writer Alex Haley. It is the poignant story of three generations of an African-American family who start out as destitute sharecroppers in Tennessee.

Mama Flora is the heart and strength of the family, shepherding her children through hard times after the murder of her husband by white landholders. She has passionate ambitions for her son Willie, but he dashes her dreams by abandoning his church-going roots and moving to Chicago. After fighting in the Second World War, he marries his childhood sweetheart and struggles to build a new urban life for his family.

Flora's dreams are realized by Ruthana, her sister's child, whom Mama Flora adopts. Ruthana graduates from college, and as a social worker in Harlem, counsels underprivileged women. Through her love for the radical poet Ben, Ruthana begins to understand her heritage, and after a sojourn in Africa comes to a redemptive understanding of herself.

In Chicago, Willie's twin son and daughter embrace Muslim mili

Publisher: New York : Scribner, c1998.
ISBN: 9780684834719
0684834715
Branch Call Number: HALEY A
Characteristics: 393 pages ; 24 cm.
Additional Contributors: Stevens, David 1947-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
kelliet
Apr 27, 2010

A very well told story, was easy to want to keep reading until I was finished.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top