Why Spy?

Why Spy?

Espionage in An Age of Uncertainty

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

What motivates someone to risk his or her life in the shadowy, often dangerous world of espionage? What are the needs and opportunities for spying amid the "war on terrorism"? And how can the United States recruit spies to inform its struggle with Islamic fundamentalists' acts of anti-Western jihad?
Drawing on over twenty-five years of experience, Frederick P. Hitz, a former inspector general of the Central Intelligence Agency, guides the reader through the byzantine structure of the U.S. intelligence community (which agency handles what?), traces the careers and pitfalls of such infamous spies as Robert Hanssen and Aldrich Ames, and explains how the United States must meet the challenges set forth in the Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act of 2004. He also describes the transformation of the CIA after the end of the cold war--from 1991 to the present--and outlines a vision for the future of U.S. spying in the twenty-first century.
A fascinating glimpse into the inner workings of international espionage and intelligence, "Why Spy?" is a must-read not only for fans of Tom Clancy and John le Carre, but for anyone concerned about the security of the United States in a post-cold war, post-9/11 world.

Publisher: New York : Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, 2008.
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780312356040
0312356048
Branch Call Number: 327.1273 HITZ F
Characteristics: viii, 212 pages ; 19 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
StarGladiator
Jan 05, 2015

Instead of reading this pile of offal, become an informed citizen by reading up on Alfreda Bikowsky, 9/11 and torture. Instead of reading this exercise in dung creation, try reading about Julie Sirrs, the DIA and Ahmad Shah Massoud and his assassination several days prior to 9/11/01. Read about Project Camelot, and other such kill projects. Look into the backgrounds of Timothy Geithner's father, President Obama's mother and stepfather, Diana Farrell's family and what they were about in Columbia. Your time spent will be a real eye-opener!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top