Come Tumbling Down

Come Tumbling Down

eBook - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Amazon's Best of 2020 So Far

The fifth installment in New York Times bestselling author Seanan McGuire's award-winning Wayward Children series, Come Tumbling Down picks up the threads left dangling by Every Heart a Doorway and Down Among the Sticks and Bones

When Jack left Eleanor West's School for Wayward Children she was carrying the body of her deliciously deranged sister--whom she had recently murdered in a fit of righteous justice--back to their home on the Moors.

But death in their adopted world isn't always as permanent as it is here, and when Jack is herself carried back into the school, it becomes clear that something has happened to her. Something terrible. Something of which only the maddest of scientists could conceive. Something only her friends are equipped to help her overcome.

Eleanor West's "No Quests" rule is about to be broken.


The Wayward Children Series
Book 1: Every Heart a Doorway
Book 2: Down Among the Sticks and Bones
Book 3: Beneath the Sugar Sky
Book 4: In an Absent Dream
Book 5: Come Tumbling Down

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Publisher: 2020.
ISBN: 9780765399304
Branch Call Number: eBook overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Overdrive, Inc

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Mar 31, 2020

I really enjoyed this one. I seem to prefer the books in the series that take place in The Moors. This particular storyline is probably wrapped up so I don't think there will be any more but if there are, I will be very excited to read them! I look forward to continuing the series.

Feb 27, 2020

After hearing that this newest book in the Wayward Children series was about my favorite portal world so far- the Moors from Down Among The Sticks and Bones- I was excited. However, it took me forever to get involved and invested in this story, and it's only a little over two hundred pages long. It is about Jack and Jill, and the rest of the children left at Eleanor's home (who haven't yet found their doors again) but it feels like it wastes time rehashing things and relationships that we've already seen, and it just seemed like filler until we got to the really interesting parts- Jack retaking her home and her body in the Moors- but that was only after slogging through the first half of the book. The book has diverse characters, I'll give it that, but it sometimes feels that McGuire focuses too much on this and not enough on the actual portal doors and worlds behind them, which is really what the stories should be about, especially since they are so short. I want there to be more of these worlds. I want to see Christopher's door, and Cora's, and Kade's. We could have had a glimpse of these instead of all of the other filler, and then the end feels rushed, and it was all over before I had a chance to enjoy myself. That being said, McGuire's descriptions and way of seeing the world are eye-opening and different, and I'm excited to see what the next book is about.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Related Authors


Subject Headings


Find it at LPL

To Top