This Tender Land

This Tender Land

A Novel

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
14
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

"If you liked Where the Crawdads Sing, you'll love This Tender Land ...This story is as big-hearted as they come." -- Parade

A magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the bestselling author of Ordinary Grace .

1932, Minnesota--the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O'Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent's wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own.

Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.
Publisher: 2019.
ISBN: 9781476749310
Branch Call Number: eBook overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Overdrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
tina43
Oct 17, 2019

I really enjoyed reading this book. The characters were well developed and varied. A great read.

DCLadults Oct 10, 2019

A New & Noteworthy pick. During the Depression, four orphans band together looking for a version of home. For fans of “Before We Were Yours” and “Where the Crawdads Sing.”

s
sisterthree
Oct 10, 2019

One of the most depressing books I have ever read. Well written, but not much of an ending to prevent depression. I do not recommend this at all.

e
EmilyEm
Oct 03, 2019

Four young vagabonds venture on an odyssey through Minnesota by river, ending in Saint Louis, in 1932.

Krueger tells a page-turning story of four young orphans' search for ‘home’ in the midst of the Great Depression with historical references that add meat to this story’s bones. Loved it. Two Minnesota historical events he includes I’d read in other books might be of interest to others. Consider reading Mary Relindes Ellis’s 'The Bohemian Flats' and Diane Wilson’s 'Spirit Car: Journey into a Dakota Past.'

m
maipenrai
Sep 28, 2019

I liked the novel, but prefer the mysteries. Kristi & Abby Tabby

n
NedSu
Sep 27, 2019

This book is the epitome of a picaresque novel, ala Huck Finn. It even takes place on a River as a vehicle for moving. This journey is more a trip through the hardscrabble landscape of the Depression on 1932, and what people were often forced to do in order to survive. From the eyes of a 12 year old orphan, who is old before his time, it is devoid of deep thought, and the land does not play an integral part of the novel. This is unlike the majority in that aspect, as landscape is an active character in the O'Connor novels, and the deep musings of Cork. Still, it is William Kent Kreuger, so it is definitely worth a read, both as a plot driven novel and an overview of the Depression.

b
Bookworm1136
Sep 19, 2019

4 1/2 - 5 star read. I love William Kent Krueger's books and this stand alone was an exceptional read, filled with interesting characters and a terrific storyline. 4 orphans meet at the Lincoln Indian Training School in Minnesota in 1932, at the time of the Great Depression. Albert and his brother Odie are the only white kids in the school. Odie is a rebel and seems to always be doing things that merit harsh punishment. The woman who runs the school, known to the kids as the Black Witch, seems to have a particular need to punish Odie. Their best friend is Mose, a young mute Sioux boy. When they finally escape the school, they take young Emmy with them. They take to the river in a canoe and plan to head to St. Louis, where Albert and Odie have a barely remembered Aunt. Along the way, they have adventures, some good, some bad. The journey teaches them life skills and who to trust. And at times, it divides them. This is a book with heart and is a great story that I found hard to put down. An excellent read.

r
Reads_A_Lot
Sep 08, 2019

I enjoy books about scrappy, adventurous kids so this coming of age story about 4 orphans on the run during the depression was right up my alley. Filled with good characters that I felt connected to and written so you feel like you are traveling along with them. Gives a good accounting of the down and out society of that era. I liked the strong bond and camaraderie between the kids and the kind hearted people they met along the way. I was just a little disappointed because I was hoping for more of a natural/outdoorsy, living off the land canoe journey by the 4 orphans instead of canoeing from town to town. This was just a small misjudgment on my part. I still enjoyed the book very much.

m
mizzou76
Aug 31, 2019

Indie Books

d
darladoodles
Aug 27, 2019

This moving and epic new-release puts the bloom on my rosebush. I can just picture that canoe with its precious cargo making its way down the Gilead, then the Minnesota and on to the Mississippi. Those precious vagabonds floated their way into my heart. Let me tell you--there were times when I had to slap my hand over my mouth in despair over the events these four orphans lived through on their odyssey. "Ordinary Grace" is one of my favorite books EVER and it was such a treat to spend some time in New Bremen in this second standalone for Krueger. I would contend that in addition to ties to Homer's Odyssey and Huckleberry Finn, you could also make a case for Robinson's "Gilead" and the classic from Kansas "The Wizard of Oz." Can I get an amen?

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top