Bringing Down the Duke

Bringing Down the Duke

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
16
2
1
Annabelle Archer, the brilliant but destitute daughter of a country vicar, has earned herself a place among the first cohort of female students at the renowned University of Oxford. In return for her scholarship, she must support the rising women's suffrage movement. The cold and calculating Sebastian, Duke of Montgomery is appalled to find a suffragist squad has infiltrated his ducal home, but the real threat is his impossible feelings for green-eyed beauty Annabelle Archer.
Publisher: New York : Jove, 2019.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781984805683
1984805681
Branch Call Number: ROMANCE DUNMORE
Characteristics: 356 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

045: Isn’t it Romantic? Read a Romance Month!

August is Read a Romance Month, which is perfect because it's hot outside aaaaaand hot inside the pages (HEYO!) Whether you're a regular reader or not, we've got some great insights for why romance matters and how you can find your steamy (or sweet) reads. Warning: there are some *terrible* romance-related puns in this one.    Bookish News: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi is… (more)


From Library Staff

Comment
LPL_PolliK Aug 16, 2019

A winning historical romance debut from Evie Dunmore! When an "overeducated" young woman attends a newly co-ed Oxford, her scholarship requires she works for the suffragist cause. In the line of duty, she runs headlong into confrontations with a frosty Duke who has reasons of his own f... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

This was so, so fun. Spicy yet sweet, with feminist overtones...what more could a girl ask for really?

Anabelle Archer has embarked on her new life's journey at Oxford as one of the earliest female admissions to the school. She's hungry for knowledge and to escape her past while perfectly content to remain a spinster at twenty-and-five. She joins a group of feminist radicals looking to reform the Married Women's Property Act, and in trying to drum up support, she (literally) bumps into the Duke of Montgomery, Sebastian Devereux, who she is then tasked to recruit. But love and lust have their own plans for Anabelle and the Duke...

I am a sucker for a good romance these days, the spicier the better. This one took a while building up to the spice, but ooooooh boy it got there and I was hooked every step of the way.

I loved reading from Anabelle's perspective, but I love that we also got the Duke's. It felt like a real Pride and Prejudice type situation, where they're so obviously going to bang and fall in love but they're adamant that they can't, and reading about their angst from both sides made it even more fun. Montgomery is the classic cold, calculating logician to Anabelle's fiery yet sweet intelligence, and they worked together so well.

Beyond the romance, though, I really enjoyed the plot here too. I was dreading Anabelle having to go back to her cousin, hoping she could make ends meet, all of that, and the feminist activities and cast of friends that surround her really balance the romance aspect out. I love that we get the early glimpse into women paving the way for other women, and it's done very well in this story.

The setting is also crafted so well here. I have such a wonderfully detailed vision of what Montgomery's estate looks like, especially the library with stars on the ceiling. I love when a book does that - this one was transporting in that way.

Overall, I found this a bit predictable, but nevertheless, very enjoyable. I'll be back for the rest of the series for sure! It satisfies the desire for spice without sacrificing plot or characters, and I love that balance with my whole heart.

I found this a bit predictable, but nevertheless, very enjoyable. I'll be back for the rest of the series for sure! It satisfies the desire for spice without sacrificing plot or characters, and I love that balance with my whole heart.

VaughanPLBecca Dec 09, 2020

An unexpectedly good historical romcom. Perfect for fans of Julia Quinn's Bridgerton series (especially while waiting for the Netflix series. Can't wait!)

a
A1305846801
Oct 01, 2020

Thoroughly researched, intelligently written and a joy to read. What a fun ride!

b
Buzzymas
Sep 09, 2020

I love love love this book. Annabelle is a great character! Also the romance is cheesy but so fun to read.

l
lizharr
Sep 03, 2020

Mostly books email

s
Suellen1111
Aug 20, 2020

A witty, engaging story. Well written but with 3 or 4 dead-boring chapters in the middle. IOTB

JCLHebahA Apr 07, 2020

I don't know about other people, but everything being topsy-turvy right now has dented my reading mojo. This finally broke my reading drought with a great slow-burn romance between intellectual equals, with a great supporting cast of friends who have the heroine's back. Great debut; can't wait to see how this series unfurls.

t
TheresaAJ
Feb 18, 2020

This historical romance set in Victorian England features a heroine who studies at Oxford, participates in the woman's suffrage movement, and falls head over heels in love with a duke. Dunmore brings the era to life and also creates characters who are complex and slightly ill-at-ease with their place in Victorian society. The reader can't help but notice the vast gulf between Annabelle's perilous financial circumstances as a single woman and the luxurious lifestyle of her friends at Oxford. The author does a good job of portraying both sides of the social equation in this novel.

c
cthaosoc
Jan 13, 2020

What a fantastic debut for Evie Dunmore! If you are a fan of Julia Quinn and Sherry Thomas then this is the book for you! I can't wait for the next book in the series! Highly recommend!

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

The sensation of balancing on the edge of an abyss gripped her, and for a moment she couldn’t breathe. One word, and she’s take a mighty plunge. She had thought it took all her courage to build a life of her own, and now, swaying on the precipice, she understood she had to be even braver to give herself, heart and soul, into the hands of another and build a life with him.

c
cthaosoc
Jan 13, 2020

“Perhaps you can explain it to me, then,” she said, “how is it fair that my utterly inept cousin is in command of me, for no reason other than that he’s a man and I’m a woman? How is it fair that I master Latin and Greek as well as any man at Oxford, yet I am taught over a baker’s shop? How is it fair that a man can tell me my brain was wired wrong, when his main achievement in life seems to be his birth into a life of privilege? And why do I have to beg a man to please make it his interest that I, too, may vote on the laws that govern my life every day?”

Age

Add Age Suitability
c
cthaosoc
Jan 13, 2020

cthaosoc thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top