Definitely Hispanic

Definitely Hispanic

Growing up Latino and Celebrating What Unites Us

Book - 2019
Rate this:
Perfect for fans of Fresh Off the Boat 's situational humor and Jane the Virgin 's celebration of Latinidad, Definitely Hispanic is a collection of introspective memoiristic essays by social media influencer and viral phenomenon LeJuan James about growing up Hispanic in the US.

LeJuan James loves being Hispanic. But growing up in the United States to immigrant parents, he quickly noticed that their house rules and traditions didn't always match up with his friends'. The result was a lifetime of laugh-out-loud relatable content for his videos. After half a decade of reenacting his experiences online, LeJuan is taking a closer look at everything he loves about his family's culture.

Definitely Hispanic is a collection of heartfelt memoiristic essays that explores the themes LeJuan touches upon in his videos and celebrates the values and traditions being kept alive by Hispanic parents raising US-born children. He shares anecdotes about discovering the differences between his and his friends' households, demystifies "La Pela" (the Spanking), explains the vital role women play in Hispanic families, and pays reverence to universal cultural truths like food is love and music is in Hispanics' DNA.

From #Home, where he talks about how his family moved back and forth between the United States and Puerto Rico until settling in Orlando, FL, to #TheHouse, when he was finally able to buy his parents the home they deserve thanks to his online success; this wide-ranging collection of essays will resonate with fans of all ages who feel like they straddle the line between two (or more) cultures, languages, and/or identities.
Publisher: New York, NY : Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc., 2019.
Edition: First Atria Books hardcover edition.
ISBN: 9781501194207
1501194208
Branch Call Number: 305.235 JAMES L
Characteristics: xii, 205 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : color illustrations ; 23 cm
Additional Contributors: Molinari, Cecilia - Author

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top