Once More We Saw Stars

Once More We Saw Stars

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
"A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss."
--Cheryl Strayed

For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake of unimaginable grief.

As the book opens: two-year-old Greta Greene is sitting with her grandmother on a park bench on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. A brick crumbles from a windowsill overhead, striking her unconscious, and she is immediately rushed to the hospital. But although it begins with this event and with the anguish Jayson and his wife, Stacy, confront in the wake of their daughter's trauma and the hours leading up to her death, Once More We Saw Stars quickly becomes a narrative that is as much about hope and healing as it is about grief and loss. Jayson recognizes, even in the midst of his ordeal, that there will be a life for him beyond it--that if only he can continue moving forward, from one moment to the next, he will survive what seems unsurvivable. With raw honesty, deep emotion, and exquisite tenderness, he captures both the fragility of life and absoluteness of death, and most important of all, the unconquerable power of love. This is an unforgettable memoir of courage and transformation--and a book that will change the way you look at the world.
Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2019.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781524733537
1524733539
Branch Call Number: 155.937 GREENE J
Characteristics: 243 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
b
bronteside
Jul 11, 2019

In Once More We Saw Stars,Jayson Greene writes,
“Children who lose parents are orphans;bereaved spouses
are widows. But what do you call parents who lose children ?”
Greene shares the tragic loss of his two year old daughter with
readers in this terse and beautifully written work ..you can feel his tears
on so many pages, and rage on the others.
But there is very little blame in these chapters; Instead,Greene opens his heart
Revealing both his bravery and vulnerability.
Near the end of this book, you feel and hope Greene will be okay.
And while comparisons are horribly wrong, thoughts return to another parent
(Sonali Deraniyagala in the “Wave”) who suffered the unspeakable &accidental loss
Of her children but pushes through it all through writing.

m
MB85CAL
Jul 07, 2019

Touching, moving, and uplifting. Highly recommended. Read it and be moved and changed.

s
suza44
Jul 01, 2019

Jayson Greene has a gift for words. His description of events and places brings you to the heart of what he is experiencing and feeling. His and Stacy's journey through this unspeakable tragedy is heart breaking and healing at the same time. How does one live through and accept and unbearable loss, one excruciating day at a time. Thank you for sharing your beautiful "little girl" with us.

ArapahoeLoriN Jun 29, 2019

A beautiful book involving heart-wrenching loss, and eventual healing. You will cry and laugh and cry more. Jayson Greene and his wife share the unthinkable, and their personal commitment to each other. It ends with hope. Well done!

OPL_BethS Jun 13, 2019

The author's two year old daughter dies after a tragic accident, and he and his wife are left to grapple with the aftermath. Surprisingly, it's filled with equal parts sadness and hope.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top