The Stranger Diaries

The Stranger Diaries

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6

"This lively whodunit keeps you guessing until the end." -- People

"Utterly bewitching...As unforgettable as it is original." -- A.J. Finn

"Goose-bump spooky, smart, and haunting...I loved this book!" -- Louise Penny

Death lies between the lines when the events of a dark story start coming true in this haunting modern gothic mystery, perfect for fans of Magpie Murders and The Lake House.

Clare Cassidy is no stranger to murder. A high school English teacher specializing in the Gothic writer R. M. Holland, she teaches a course on it every year. But when one of Clare's colleagues and closest friends is found dead, with a line from R. M. Holland's most famous story, "The Stranger," left by her body, Clare is horrified to see her life collide with the storylines of her favorite literature.

To make matters worse, the police suspect the killer is someone Clare knows. Unsure whom to trust, she turns to her closest confidant, her diary, the only outlet she has for her darkest suspicions and fears about the case. Then one day she notices something odd. Writing that isn't hers, left on the page of an old diary :

Hallo Clare. You don't know me.

Clare becomes more certain than ever: "The Stranger" has come to terrifying life. But can the ending be rewritten in time?

Publisher: Boston ; New York : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019.
Edition: First U.S. edition.
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9781328577856
1328577856
Branch Call Number: MYSTERY GRIFFITH
Characteristics: 338 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
l
LauraSteinert
May 11, 2019

While I understand the point of having three points of view in a narrative, I find it extremely annoying when I'm told the same "facts of the case" three times. Then the police go over the facts in dialogue and then the teacher goes over the facts with the police, and then with her friends. I have a list of 500 books to read, I'm NOT so new to the genre that I can't recognize a clue (DON'T tell me 6 times please), and I don't forget from one chapter to the next what happened. It was a very frustrating read--especially the ghost story she has written in to convince readers the long dead writer mentioned was real.

r
ready2read
Apr 17, 2019

I am a big fan of author Elly Griffiths - especially her Ruth Galloway series - but also the more recent 'Magic Men" books. I was thrilled to hear that she had released her first stand alone; it did not disappoint. It's like getting a little lesson on Gothic novels, in a novel with a modern setting.

ArapahoeKati Apr 15, 2019

This has all the modern gothic elements: an English school setting, a (ghost) story within a story, diary entries and multiple unreliable viewpoints surrounding a murder. You'll be torn between reading slowly or racing to the conclusion.

g
gloryb
Mar 20, 2019

This story is unlike Griffiths' Ruth Galloway stories. The author tells this story using 3 narrators. - a mother and daughter, both involved in the 2 murders, and a police woman who is investigating those murders in a small town in England. Thus the reader is told about the same incident from 3 POVs, each giving some new info about the characters (their lives, relationships, and motives), the murders (teacher colleagues of the mom), and the surrounding situation (the connection to a spooky past history of the school). Just when I was finding the repetition of similar facts getting rather tedious with no suspects in sight as all of the characters seemed "good", the author quickly advanced the story to its shocking conclusion. The tension is kept throughout the book by the repetition of a phrase about evil doers being amidst this group of people (mainly teachers and students), mysterious entries by another hand in the main character's diary, the suggestion of nearby ghosts and restless spirits, and the insertion of a portion of a spooky gothic story (always written in italics) which contained murders after the same phrase was spoken. A good read around Halloween time.

debwalker Mar 12, 2019

Spooky! After a colleague is found dead, English teacher Claire Cassidy discovers messages from the murderer in her own private journal.

d
darladoodles
Mar 04, 2019

You may not want to read this chilling standalone mystery after dark. Clare Cassidy is an English teacher and working on a biography of R.H. Holland, the author of the atmospheric and enigmatic tale "The Stranger." Her friend and fellow faculty member Ella is murdered and Clare's life begins to take on a very sinister turn. She finds a message in her personal diary and then there is another murder. Is there a serial killer on the loose? Why do these crimes all connect back to Clare and mimic "The Stranger?" I could not put this down and read it at breakneck speed to get to the end -- totally shocked by the reveal of the facts behind all the evil acts in the narrative. Then at the end you get to read the entire text of "The Stranger" and its chilling conclusion. Goosebumps!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top