Song for A Whale

Song for A Whale

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
1
In the spirit of modern-day classics like Fish in a Tree and Counting by 7s comes the Schneider Family Book Award-winning story of a deaf girl's connection to a whale whose song can't be heard by his species, and the journey she takes to help him.

From fixing the class computer to repairing old radios, twelve-year-old Iris is a tech genius. But she's the only deaf person in her school, so people often treat her like she's not very smart. If you've ever felt like no one was listening to you, then you know how hard that can be.

When she learns about Blue 55, a real whale who is unable to speak to other whales, Iris understands how he must feel. Then she has an idea: she should invent a way to "sing" to him! But he's three thousand miles away. How will she play her song for him?

Full of heart and poignancy, this affecting story by sign language interpreter Lynne Kelly shows how a little determination can make big waves.

"Fascinating, brave, and tender...a triumph." --Katherine Applegate, Newbery Award-winning author of The One and Only Ivan
Publisher: New York : Delacorte Press, [2019]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9781524770235
152477023X
9781524770242
1524770248
Branch Call Number: j F KELLY L
Characteristics: 303 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

Highlighting Deaf Culture

A few weeks ago, my colleagues and I were beside ourselves with excitement when we heard about a new easy reader series called Emma Every Day, which is an #OwnVoices series featuring a Deaf protagonist.  Emma uses American Sign Language (ASL) to communicate with her family and friends, and she also has a cochlear implant (CI) that helps with her hearing. Cochlear implants are highly… (more)


From Library Staff

Schneider Family Book Award, Odyssey Honor (audiobook)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
JCLBrittanyC Nov 18, 2020

This was one of the November tween book club picks, and it was just so sweet. Our main character is Iris who happens to be the only deaf student in her school. Being the only deaf student is very isolating for Iris, but during science class she learns about Blue 55. Blue 55 is a whale who is unable to speak with other whales. Iris becomes incredibly drawn to Blue 55 and begins an adventure to make sure Blue 55 knows he’s not alone. I think the main character being deaf brought a lot of depth and new experiences for our tweens to learn about. I found many of the characters so lovable and the story just brought me so much joy. If you are looking to suggest a book to an animal lover, I would definitely recommend this one.

g
ghkidlib
Sep 12, 2020

Loved this story about a strong and independent girl who happens to be deaf, and her supportive grandparents — her parents just don’t “get” her. Using her amazing skills and lots of resourcefulness, Iris decides to communicate with a rare hybrid whale who is alone in the ocean. Loosely based on a real whale! An inspiring story that won the 2020 Schneider Family Book Award.

DCLkids Aug 07, 2020

A Great Books for Great Kids staff pick 2020. Iris, a 12-year-old girl, is super smart, but her classmates treat her differently because she is the only deaf person in her school. Iris feels unheard. One day she learns about a whale that other whales cannot hear. So, she and her grandmother go on an adventure to try to communicate with it. Will the whale hear Iris? Will Iris be heard? Grades 7-8.

FPL_Yvette Mar 02, 2020

Iris the protagonist of this story is deaf, and while she cannot hear sounds, she can feel them. She is an expert at repairing old radios, knowing they are fixed when she feels the vibrations of the sound waves coming through the speakers. Iris is lonely as the only person in her Houston school who is deaf. This changes when her science teacher plays a video about a blue fin whale (Blue 55) who sings at a different frequency than its peers, Iris feels an immediate connection. Her connection is so strong that she must find a way to make contact with Blue 55 in Alaska. Will she make it there safely and on time to meet Blue 55? A great title if you enjoy adventure, animals, and believe in your chasing dreams!

k
KAusd
Jan 14, 2020

I raised a deaf child and what I loved about this book is how right the author got what deaf children go through growing up trying to communicate with others and trying to find their "people" when they live around mostly hearing friends and family. I wish this story was around when my daughter was growing up, I think she would have loved it. The author's notes on deafness and sign language are accurate, too.

OPL_KrisC Oct 22, 2019

A sweet & inspiring story about a young deaf girl how is trying to help a whale that can not speak to other whales. For fans of Holly Goldberg Sloan and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

s
ssteinheider
Dec 17, 2018

Children's fiction. Very sweet story of a deaf child and her need to feel a part of something. Great relationship with grandma. Took an interesting adventure with grandma to fulfill her need.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top