Watching You

Watching You

A Novel

eBook - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
1
The instant New York Times and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of the "riveting thriller" ( PopSugar ) Then She Was Gone delivers another suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect "for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and Luckiest Girl Alive" ( Library Journal).

Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England; home to doctors and lawyers and old-money academics. It's not the sort of place where people are brutally murdered in their own kitchens. But it is the sort of place where everyone has a secret. And everyone is watching you.

As the headmaster credited with turning around the local school, Tom Fitzwilliam is beloved by one and all--including Joey Mullen, his new neighbor, who quickly develops an intense infatuation with this thoroughly charming yet unavailable man. Joey thinks her crush is a secret, but Tom's teenaged son Freddie--a prodigy with aspirations of becoming a spy for MI5--excels in observing people and has witnessed Joey behaving strangely around his father.

One of Tom's students, Jenna Tripp, also lives on the same street, and she's not convinced her teacher is as squeaky clean as he seems. For one thing, he has taken a particular liking to her best friend and fellow classmate, and Jenna's mother--whose mental health has admittedly been deteriorating in recent years--is convinced that Mr. Fitzwilliam is stalking her.

Meanwhile, twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam...

In Lisa Jewell's latest brilliant "bone-chilling suspense" ( People ) no one is who they seem--and everyone is hiding something. Who has been murdered--and who would have wanted one of their neighbors dead? As "Jewell teases out her twisty plot at just the right pace" ( Booklist , starred review), you will be kept guessing until the startling revelation on the very last page.
Publisher: 2018.
ISBN: 9781501190094
Branch Call Number: eBook overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Overdrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
p
pharra19
Jan 16, 2019

Very good thriller, as all her books are!
Started off a bit slow, but when the action picked up, I found it hard to put the book down.
Great last page!!! :)

m
mjk236sb
Jan 13, 2019

Enjoyed this fast moving story of mystery and murder. So many people were caught "watching" that it was hard to put a finger on the guilty one. Interesting characters and until the very end you don't find out the real person behind everything. Great read. Recommend it for a lazy weekend day.

d
DBoden88
Jan 12, 2019

Lisa Jewell has given readers another engrossing character study into the darker side of human nature (you can truly pick up any one of her books if you're looking for a fast-paced, page-turning thriller.) I love how the title 'Watching You' could be applied to any of the main characters (goes to show that we all can be a bit voyeuristic from time to time.)

s
sunnyfeline
Jan 10, 2019

Author Lisa Jewell did an excellent job with keeping us guessing who might be responsible for the murder. Was it the charming school headmaster? His spying son? The infatuated neighbor? The mentally ill woman who thinks everyone is out to get her? One of the female high school students who has a crush on the headmaster? There's not so much jumping around in this book compared to some of her other books. It flows more smoothly between the short police interview transcripts from every few chapters and the story itself from different people's voices. This "whodunit" book is a must read. You will never guess who really did it until it's right in your face towards end of the story!

r
Rosie123_0
Dec 30, 2018

I have read several of Lisa Jewell's novels, & WATCHING YOU is her best work thus far, in my opinion. Good character development, a credible plot, & a fast-moving story line make this an enjoyable read. I would recommend it.

debwalker Dec 10, 2018

Huge buzz building for this one.

d
darladoodles
Nov 18, 2018

As many compelling psychological thrillers do, this one begins with a crime scene. Soon we observe the discovery of a red tassel and a bit later the owner of said tassel. . . and dun, dun,dun . . . we are hooked! Told from the POV of a young woman, a teenage girl and a teenage boy we view events leading up to the horrendous event alongside transcripts of police interviews done directly following. With a neighborhood that harbors so many secrets, many a plot twist is in store.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top