Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
16
1
Now a Netflix series!

New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple IACP Cookbook Awards

Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic , The Washington Post , Chicago Tribune , Rachel Ray Every Day , San Francisco Chronicle , Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour , Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune , The Seattle Times , Tampa Bay Times , Tasting Table, Modern Farmer , Publishers Weekly, and more.

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat , an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements--Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food--and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes--and dozens of variations--to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs.

Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you'll ever need.

With a foreword by Michael Pollan.
Publisher: 2017.
ISBN: 9781476753850
Branch Call Number: eBook overdrive
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Overdrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
l
Lumina9
Apr 13, 2021

I had to order this book ~ it's a unique way to look at preparing food and how to bring out the very best in flavours ~ loved the show too ~

k
knighted
Nov 02, 2020

This is not just a regular cookbook. Is more a behind the scenes of cooking. Learning about controlling heat , how to season properly and the right method of cooking for each vegetables etc.
Ps; after some time her voodoo started working on me . I started selecting ingredients based on their use and experimenting. I highly recommend this cookbook.

b
BiblioKateB
Sep 15, 2020

I love these recipes! Also loved the show. Be sure to check it out too!

e
EARRRRRR
Jun 14, 2020

Phenomenal read. If you have ever wondered about the "Why" behind cooking, this book reveals the chemistry. Nosrat's extensive knowledge and delightful writing complement the illustrations by McNaughton beautifully.

m
Meli2121
Oct 30, 2019

I had to buy this book, and have done so for others as well. It is such an amazing resource! Love the research and approach to these 4 main concepts. This is a multi level cookbook with something for everyone.

b
Blue_18
Sep 07, 2019

If you want to walk into a market and see meals instead of ingredients this is the book for you. I spent less then 2 hours with this book and knew it was a book I wanted in my library. I'm returning the library's copy so someone else can enjoy it. I'm buying my own. The combination of experience and writing ability is maybe once in a lifetime.

l
LMIX
Aug 26, 2019

This book is genius.

h
HKMar
Jun 12, 2019

I am not going to lie, I definitely checked this out because of Samin's Netflix series titled just like her cookbook. The series is the prelude to her cookbook, we meet the illustrator of whom makes those amazing illustrations in her cookbook with so much detail. Samin has the vibe of a millennial but is actually a GenXer. I really enjoy her openness and teacher-like persona. Learning how to cook is intriguing and appealing with Samin. I recommend both the book and the Netflix series. I also find her Persian background to be very intriguing as well as her linguistic skills.

r
rogebc_0
Apr 06, 2019

This is a cookbook that teaches you about cooking in an easy and unique way. With the current long waitlist and me not wanting to return it, I may have to purchase it!

j
JLMason
Dec 03, 2018

This book is aimed at a cook with some, but not extensive experience who wants to take his/her dishes to another level and explore beyond executing recipes. The first half is a must-read about how to use fat, salt, acid, and heat to enhance the flavours of a meal. It refers to recipes in the second half, many of which provide multiple options to showcase the techniques learned in the first half. The book complements Netflix’s series of the same name, which has author Samin lead the viewer through four episodes each of which is based in a single country: fat (Italy), salt (Japan), acid (Mexico), and heat (the U.S. and Samin’s kitchen). There’s much to learn in the first half and the recipes look good, so I will be buying this book to have a permanent reference.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
b
BiblioKateB
Sep 15, 2020

Page 17 - "Cooking is about the joy of living"

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top