Black Enough

Black Enough

Stories of Being Young & Black in America

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
2
1
 …

Edited by National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi, and featuring some of the most acclaimed bestselling Black authors writing for teens today--Black Enough is an essential collection of captivating stories about what it's like to be young and Black in America. A selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List.

Black is...sisters navigating their relationship at summer camp in Portland, Oregon, as written by Renée Watson.

Black is...three friends walking back from the community pool talking about nothing and everything, in a story by Jason Reynolds.

Black is...Nic Stone's high-class beauty dating a boy her momma would never approve of.

Black is...two girls kissing in Justina Ireland's story set in Maryland.

Black is urban and rural, wealthy and poor, mixed race, immigrants, and more--because there are countless ways to be Black enough.

Contributors:

Justina Ireland

Varian Johnson

Rita Williams-Garcia

Dhonielle Clayton

Kekla Magoon

Leah Henderson

Tochi Onyebuchi

Jason Reynolds

Nic Stone

Liara Tamani

Renée Watson

Tracey Baptiste

Coe Booth

Brandy Colbert

Jay Coles

Ibi Zoboi

Lamar Giles

Publisher: New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2019]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062698728
0062698729
Branch Call Number: YA STORIES BLACK EN
Characteristics: xiv, 400 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

035: Booking It Into the New Year

New year, new reads. Polli and Kate scoped out some upcoming book releases and are here to share their faves! Also, heads up: the 2019 Book Squad Goals Reading Challenge is HEEEEEEEEEEEERE: http://tinyurl.com/LPLBSG2019 Note: We’ve included links to the catalog for the earliest books so you can get on the holds list (marked with *). Otherwise, linked to Good Reads for more info until they’re… (more)


From Library Staff

Captivating stories about what it is like to be young and black in America.

Black Enough is an essential collection of captivating stories about what it's like to be young and Black in America.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
IndyPL_TammieB Mar 12, 2021

This collection is eye opening into the look, sound, and feel of being young and black in America today. It demonstrates a realistic and diverse picture of the experience of black teens from every walk of life. The stories emphasize that no two people experience reality the same way; our experience is our reality.

p
paultucson47
Aug 09, 2020

Excellent anthology dealing with Black young people. Very eye opening for those who have had little contact with Blacks. The writers were terrific and I really enjoyed the many different stories.

JCLBetM Jun 19, 2020

A broad range of short stories featuring Black kids and teens and their experiences. I listened to the audio version and it brought the different stories to life in a more personal way for me. Worth checking out even if only to be introduced to a lot of different authors. While there are definitely some hard, sad stories, there are also funny, joyful ones -- Jason Reynolds's in particular, which makes me smile just thinking about it.

b
booknrrd
Apr 20, 2019

Black Enough is a collection of short stories edited by Ibi Zoboi about contemporary African American teens. The teens in the story represent a wide swath of the diversity of experience for African Americans in the United States today. There are LGBT teens, teens living in the city, teens in the country, immigrants, rich teens. There's no aliens or dragons. It's just real life, for the most part.

I wish when I was a teen there had been a book like this for me. I'm not sure what that would have looked like, but I know that I never felt like I saw myself in books, and I was a suburban white girl. I think this is a great collection, and it exposes teens to a wide array of wonderful authors, like Ibi Zoboi, Jason Reynolds, Renee Watson, Justina Ireland, Rita Williams-Garcia, Nic Stone, and more. It's a veritable Who's Who. Stories that stand out in my memory include "Black Enough" by Varian Johnson, "Oreo" by Brandy Colbert, and "Wild Horses, Wild Hearts" by Jay Coles.

s
samcmar
Feb 20, 2019

Anthologies are always hard to review. As a reader some author's styles or stories will gel better with you than others, and that is totally the case with Black Enough. This is a wonderful collection by a group of talented black authors, each of them with unique perspectives to share on what it means to be "black enough."

I have to say some of my favourite stories were "Oreo" by Brandy Colbert (I felt for the heroine in this one, oreo seems like a bit of a cruel term to use, especially for liking musicals!), "Half a Moon" by Renee Watson was a fantastic family oriented story, and "Kissing Sarah Smart"by Justina Ireland was a fantastic look at a young black lesbian learning what it means to capture her sexuality. I also adored "Ingredients" by Jason Reynolds, but I am a sucker for his character banter, and this one had me in stitches because the friendship between the boys was just hilarious and true to life.

And this is why anthologies are hard to rate. There are stories in this book I enjoyed, but didn't find as memorable. Despite them not being memorable for me, it doesn't make the collection itself any less valuable, and I know there are going to be so many young black readers who are going to be able to identify with the stories that are represented strongly in this collection. I look forward to sharing this book with the teens in library because I feel like it has so much to teach about race, racism, and what it means to feel marginalized. There is so much truth and value here that I fee like young readers are going to be able to identify issues in these stories and relate.

Black Enough is a great collection of stories by a group of amazing authors, and I think if you can get your hands on it, it's definitely worth checking out.

Age

Add Age Suitability
IndyPL_TammieB Mar 12, 2021

IndyPL_TammieB thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
IndyPL_TammieB Mar 12, 2021

This is a collection of 17 short stories written by contemporary black authors who are exploring what it is like to be a black teen in America. The stories address many themes and a variety of perspectives. Themes include black identity, sexual awakening, teenage anxiety, racism and racial inequity, celebrating culture, family dynamics, gender barriers, romance, suicide…

Quotes

Add a Quote
IndyPL_TammieB Mar 12, 2021

“The authors are exploring “what it is like to be a teen rebelling against, embracing, or simply coming to terms with their own idea of blackness.”

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top