Where the Red Fern Grows

Where the Red Fern Grows

The Story of Two Dogs and A Boy

Book - 1996
Average Rating:
19
12
3
 …
Rate this:

For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Where the Red Fern Grows is a beloved classic that captures the powerful bond between man and man's best friend.
 
   Billy has long dreamt of owning not one, but two, dogs. So when he's finally able to save up enough money for two pups to call his own--Old Dan and Little Ann--he's ecstatic. It doesn't matter that times are tough; together they'll roam the hills of the Ozarks.
   Soon Billy and his hounds become the finest hunting team in the valley. Stories of their great achievements spread throughout the region, and the combination of Old Dan's brawn, Little Ann's brains, and Billy's sheer will seems unbeatable. But tragedy awaits these determined hunters--now friends--and Billy learns that hope can grow out of despair, and that the seeds of the future can come from the scars of the past.
 
Praise for Where the Red Fern Grows
 
A Top 100 Children's Novel, School Library Journal ' s  A Fuse #8 Production
A Must-Read for Kids 9 to 14, NPR
Winner of Multiple State Awards
Over 7 million copies in print!
 
"A rewarding book . . . [with] careful, precise observation, all of it rightly phrased." -- The New York Times Book Review
 
"One of the great classics of children's literature . . . Any child who doesn't get to read this beloved and powerfully emotional book has missed out on an important piece of childhood for the last 40-plus years." -- Common Sense Media
 
"An exciting tale of love and adventure you'll never forget." -- School Library Journal
 
"A book of unadorned naturalness." -- Kirkus Reviews
 
"Written with so much feeling and sentiment that adults as well as children are drawn [in] with a passion." -- Arizona Daily Star
 
"It's a story about a young boy and his two hunting dogs and . . . I can't even go on without getting a little misty." -- The Huffington Post
 
"A brilliant literary work." --TeenInk.com
 
"We tear up just thinking about it." -- Time on the film adaptation

Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Delacorte Press, 1996, c1961.
Edition: Delacorte edition
ISBN: 9780385323307
0385323301
Branch Call Number: j F RAWLS W
Characteristics: 212 pages ; 22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
Leannesoo
Aug 14, 2017

I loved this book. I read this when I was in grade 4 and I remember most of my class cried, including me. I would recomend this book to anyone and I am so happy my teacher assigned this book for our class.

s
shellydoan
Jun 07, 2017

My 5th grade teacher read this to my class years ago. I remember the entire class begging her to let us skip recess so we could find out what happens next. Now I'm reading it to my kids (4th and 6th graders). Amazing book (and an amazing 5th grade teacher!)

a
Always_a_MarySue
Apr 04, 2017

This book is so amazing. I've read it so many times that I can't count them. The book is so sweet and touching. I've always loved dogs, but these dogs were amazing. I loved their relationship with Billy and with each other. I cried so hard at the end. I cry every time I read it. Love this book.

p
PearlyBaker
Sep 29, 2016

For nearly 40 years now I believed this was the first novel I ever read. I just remember driving across the country facing backwards in a brown on tan 1972 station wagon and reading an incredible book about a boy hunting pheasants. After reading this, I'm pretty sure it must have been another book because this was just an average piece about hunting raccoons. For some reason my second book, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest was not age appropriate but I loved it even more. I had no clue back then how Ken Kesey, mental illness and reading would all play such vital roles in my vocation and avocation over the years.

s
Smalm
Mar 11, 2016

I was read this book from a young age. I love this book so much, touches the heart and warms the soul. :) This is my most favorite book by far.

n
niku1234
Aug 04, 2013

This was an okay book. It was well written but was quite sad. Although i would have liked a happy ending, I was satisfied with the book.

l
lafing1
Apr 16, 2013

I first read this book at age 9, and have re-read it many times since then. It is a classic story, where childhood dreams are achieved through hard work and persistence.

x
xinyiliu
Feb 05, 2013

It is pretty good. The ending is sad, but not that sad. In classic books someone always dies.

lakevilla_IDOL Nov 26, 2012

This book is about a young boy who saves up his money for two hunting dogs. The dogs and the boy go through the good and the bad together. Their love grows for eachother. The ending of this book is sad, but it is very touching.

meenkyujung May 31, 2012

This is a very sad story but very well written and also adventureous.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

a
Always_a_MarySue
Apr 04, 2017

Always_a_MarySue thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

Orange_Horse_142003 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 99

a
andryjay
Aug 06, 2013

andryjay thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

r
red_turtle_234
May 31, 2013

red_turtle_234 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

g
green_deer_118
May 31, 2013

green_deer_118 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

b
black_lion_304
May 31, 2013

black_lion_304 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

x
xinyiliu
Feb 05, 2013

xinyiliu thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

Orange_Moose_10 May 31, 2012

Orange_Moose_10 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

d
dixiedog
May 10, 2012

dixiedog thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

v
Violet_Wombat_2
Dec 15, 2010

Violet_Wombat_2 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

View All Ages

Notices

Add Notices

e
Erika_50
Aug 11, 2017

Frightening or Intense Scenes: There are a couple. Someone accidentally gets killed in chapter 13.

x
xinyiliu
Feb 12, 2013

Violence: .

v
Violet_Wombat_2
Dec 15, 2010

Violence: This title contains Violence.

Summary

Add a Summary

b
BookWorm432
Feb 05, 2009

The adult Billy Colman narrates his childhood memories. Living with his Papa and Mama and three sisters in the Ozark Mountains in Oklahoma, all 10-year-old Billy wants is two hounds with whom he can hunt "coons" (raccoons). His family cannot afford them, however, so Billy works odd jobs for two years and saves up the money to buy them. Only then does he tell his plan to his Grandpa, who helps arrange the purchase.

After an initial adventure in which they scare off a mountain lion, Billy and his two hounds - a small, intelligent female dog he names Little Ann and a stronger, determined male dog he calls Old Dan - are inseparable. They learn all the angles of coon hunting and make a great team; no wily coon can outsmart Little Ann, and Old Dan is strong and sure. More than that, the dogs seem bonded to each other, and to Billy, in mysterious ways. Both dogs' lives are endangered at different points, but with bravery and intelligence they all help each other out of jams.

One day, the cruel, trouble-making Pritchard boys bet Billy that his dogs, whose reputations grow with each new coonskin, cannot "tree" (chase up a tree, at which point the hunter usually chops down the tree) the elusive "ghost coon" in their neck of the woods. On the hunt, the elder Rubin accidentally falls on Billy's ax as he tries to kill Billy's dogs (who are fighting the Pritchards' dog). The incident haunts Billy.

To cheer Billy up, Grandpa enters him in a championship coon hunt. Billy, Grandpa, and Papa go to the contest. Immediately, Little Ann wins the beauty contest. Billy qualifies for the championship round in which his dogs bag three coons, but a blizzard sets in as they chase away a fourth one necessary for the win. The men eventually find the half-frozen dogs circling a treed coon. When they kill the fourth coon, they win the championship and the $300 jackpot.

The family is ecstatic over Billy's success, and Mama is especially grateful for the money. But some weeks after the championship, Billy and the dogs encounter a mountain lion. The dogs save Billy's life, and they manage to kill it, but not before it inflicts serious damage on Old Dan. He dies, and without him, Little Ann loses the will to live and dies a few days later. Billy buries them next to each other and cannot understand why God took them from him.

With the money the dogs have earned over time from the coonskins and the jackpot, the family can finally move to town in the spring and the children can receive an education. On the day they move, Billy revisits his dogs' graves. He finds a red fern has sprouted up between the two mounds. He knows the Indian legend about a little boy and girl who had been lost in a blizzard and froze to death. When their bodies were found in the spring, a red fern had sprouted between them. As the legend goes, only an angel can plant the seeds of a red fern, which never dies and makes the spot sacred.

The adult Billy reflects that he would like to revisit the Ozarks and all his childhood haunts. He is sure the red fern is still there, larger now, for he believes its legend.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top