New Kid

New Kid

Graphic Novel - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
2
Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2019]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9780062691200
0062691201
Branch Call Number: j GN NEW KID
Characteristics: 249 pages : color illustrations ; 23 cm
Additional Contributors: Callahan, Jim - Colorist

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
JCLChrisK May 21, 2019

This is a wonderfully understated series of glimpses into Jordan's efforts to fit into a new school in 7th grade. All the awkward social interactions where he feels different that might be due to his newness but might also be due to the color of his skin, his neighborhood, or his socioeconomic status. Sometimes not-so-maybe, but still hard to articulate and explain, and caught up in all the other complexities of social dynamics. Jordan has trouble making friends and finding his place BOTH because he's a poor black kid in a rich private school and because it's hard for everyone no matter who they are. The book never gets preachy, just lets readers share Jordan's experiences and feel their own reactions. Authentic and nicely done.

s
stepha89
May 21, 2019

Combines all the awkwardness of middle school with themes of race and class. Elementary and middle school kids will likely be drawn to the voice. A complete delight to read.

OPL_KrisC May 14, 2019

A though-provoking graphic novel for kids with themes of friendship, racism and learning to belong. For fans of Raina Telgemeier, Gene Luen Yang & Terri Libenson.

ArapahoeMary Apr 12, 2019

Jordan is the new kid at a private school - and one of only a handful of children of color. He struggles against being "othered" but manages to find his place while fighting against stereotypes and assumptions. Told from Jordan's point of view and including his own artwork, this graphic novel will resonate with and be enjoyed by all kinds of middle school and elementary age kids.

Age

Add Age Suitability
s
stepha89
May 21, 2019

stepha89 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 12

OPL_KrisC May 14, 2019

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top