Half-witch

Half-witch

A Novel

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
In the world in which Lizbet Lenz lives, the sun still goes around the earth, God speaks directly to his worshippers, goblins haunt every cellar and witches lurk in the forests. Disaster strikes when Lizbet's father Gerhard, a charming scoundrel, is thrown into a dungeon by the tyrant Hengest Wolftrow. To free him, Lizbet must cross the Montagnes du Monde, globe-girdling mountains that reach to the sky, a journey no one has ever survived, and retrieve a mysterious book.Lizbet is desperate, and the only one who can help her is the unpleasant and sarcastic witch girl Strix. As the two girls journey through the mountains and into the lands of wonder beyond, on the run from goblins, powerful witches, and human criminals, Lizbet discovers, to her horror, that Strix's magic is turning Lizbet into a witch, too. Meanwhile, a revolution in Heaven is brewing.
Publisher: Easthampton, MA : Big Mouth House, [2018]
ISBN: 9781618731401
1618731408
Branch Call Number: YA SCHOFFST
Characteristics: 320 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
LPL_CentennialC Oct 25, 2018

This past year I had been in a huge reading slump, but then I stumbled across this book on the shelf. I had never heard of the title or author, but the cover illustration was gorgeous so I gave it a shot...and wow, am I glad I did!

Half-Witch is a fantastical, intricate, and twisted tale that... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

LPL_CentennialC Oct 25, 2018

This past year I had been in a huge reading slump, but then I stumbled across this book on the shelf. I had never heard of the title or author, but the cover illustration was gorgeous so I gave it a shot...and wow, am I glad I did!

Half-Witch is a fantastical, intricate, and twisted tale that captivated me from start to finish. The world Schoftstall built is full of wonderfully strange details and lovingly crafted characters. Usually if I get really into a book I'll devour it all in one sitting, but Half-Witch was so rich it made me want to read slowly to savor it.

Highly recommend if you like: dark fantasy folktales, witches, a spoonful of religious imagery, a hint of queer romance, lyrical writing, or coming of age stories. For fans of Catherynne Valente & Neil Gaiman!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top