A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

15 Retellings of Asian Myths and Legends

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings: these are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books's Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renée Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother's mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman's Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie's New York Times-bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.


Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
LPL_CentennialC Aug 26, 2018

If you love remixed folklore and mythology, you absolutely need to get your hands on this collection. The authors have taken traditional Asian stories and taken them in all kinds of imaginative directions. I adored each of the stories I read, but the standouts for me were:

Forbidden Fruit by R... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

LPL_CentennialC Aug 26, 2018

If you love remixed folklore and mythology, you absolutely need to get your hands on this collection. The authors have taken traditional Asian stories and taken them in all kinds of imaginative directions. I adored each of the stories I read, but the standouts for me were:

Forbidden Fruit by Roshani Chokshi
The Land of the Morning Calm by E. C. Myers
The Crimson Cloak by Cindy Pon

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top