The Afterlife of Holly Chase

The Afterlife of Holly Chase

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
5
1
Rate this:

Before I Fall meets "bah, humbug" in this contemporary YA reimagining of A Christmas Carol from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

On Christmas Eve five years ago, seventeen-year-old Holly Chase was visited by three Ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she'd become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways. She didn't. And then she died.

Now she's stuck working for the top-secret company Project Scrooge--as their latest Ghost of Christmas Past. So far, Holly's afterlife has been miserable. But this year's Scrooge is different. This year's Scrooge might change everything...

The Afterlife of Holly Chase is a witty, poignant, and insightful novel about life, love, and seizing second (or third) chances, perfect for readers who loved Before I Fall or Dash & Lily's Book of Dares.

Publisher: New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062318503
0062318500
Branch Call Number: YA HAND C
Characteristics: 389 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

OPL_KrisC Feb 03, 2018

The Afterlife of Holly Chase by Cynthia Hand is a retelling of the classic story, A Christmas Story, but with a twist. Holly is not like the original Scrooge b/c she does not mend her ways and is forced to serve as the Ghost of Christmas Past and try to save others from the same fate as her. I thought that this was an great twist to the original story. I think this book like the original story shows how it's never too late to mend your ways and think about others.

d
darladoodles
Jan 23, 2018

This book surprised me. It is full of strategically placed quotes and references to the Dickens classic. Even more importantly, the spirit of that classic shines through brilliantly in this YA novel. Holly Chase is Scrooge while also acting as the Ghost of Christmas Past (GCP) for the sixth year in a row since her death--a failure for Project Scrooge. This book has a little Hollywood, a little time travel, a budding teenage romance and ethical dilemmas galore. Recommended!

a
adom2717
Jan 05, 2018

I liked this take on A Christmas Carol. I expected the ending to go in a different direction, so i wasn't too happy with it. I will state that even though i didn't like the ending i will give the author props for changing this up and not making it so predictable

kirstd31 Jan 04, 2018

I really enjoyed this book. It was a fun holiday read with a great ending.

t
thebritlass
Dec 21, 2017

A very creative take on a Christmas classic - bookmark it for the next holiday season!

Age

Add Age Suitability

OPL_KrisC Apr 06, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top