Here We Are Now

Here We Are Now

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:

A book about love, loss, and the power of music, perfect for fans of Nick Hornby and Fangirl.

Taliah Sahar Abdallat lives and breathes music. Songs have always helped Tal ease the pain of never having known her father. Her mother, born in Jordan and very secretive about her past, won't say a word about who her dad really was. But when Tal finds a shoebox full of old letters from Julian Oliver--yes, the indie rock star Julian Oliver--she begins to piece the story together.

She writes to Julian, but after three years of radio silence, she's given up hope. Then one day, completely out of the blue, Julian shows up at her doorstep, and Tal doesn't know whether to be furious or to throw herself into his arms. Before she can decide, he asks her to go on a trip with him to meet her long-estranged family and to say good-bye to his father, her grandfather, who is dying.

Getting to know your father after sixteen years of estrangement doesn't happen in one car ride. But as Tal spends more time with Julian and his family, she begins to untangle her parents' secret past, and discovers a part of herself she never recognized before.

By the acclaimed author of My Heart and Other Black Holes, this is an intergenerational story of family and legacy and the way love informs both of those things. It's about secrets and the debt of silence. It's about the power of songs. And most of all, it's about learning how to say hello. And good-bye.

Publisher: New York, NY : Balzer + Bray an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2017]
Edition: First Edition.
ISBN: 9780062324702
0062324705
Branch Call Number: YA WARGA J
Characteristics: 292 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Mar 22, 2018

“Here We Are Now” gave me chills. The book left me with a melancholy feeling as even during the happier parts, there was an inevitable sad feel to it. I adore how the book tells the story of Taliah’s mother and Julian as well as her own. It feels like I am right there with Taliah or with her mother throughout the book. While other books may have a similar plotline to this one, “Here We Are Now” is realistic and skips all the cheesiness. The author, did an amazing job developing Taliah’s character as she opens up and learns to let others into her life. I thoroughly recommend this novel for those looking for a subtle, captivating read. Rating: 4.5/5
- @goldendog of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

a
adom2717
Jan 05, 2018

I was a little let down by this book. I don't know why but i honestly expected slightly more from this book. I mean it was alright. I enjoyed it well enough, but i just felt like there was something missing but I'm unsure what it is. I liked the idea, i think it was just the execution.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top