Light It up

Light It up

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
"Lots of characters get compared to my own Jack Reacher, but Petrie's Peter Ash is the real deal."--Lee Child

In this action-packed thriller starring war veteran Peter Ash, a well-planned and flawlessly executed hijacking reveals the hidden dangers of Colorado's mellowest business, but Ash may find there's more to this crime than meets the eye.

Combat veteran Peter Ash leaves a simple life rebuilding hiking trails in Oregon to help his good friend Henry Nygaard, whose daughter runs a Denver security company that protects cash-rich cannabis entrepreneurs from modern-day highwaymen. Henry's son-in-law and the company's operations manager were carrying a large sum of client money when their vehicle vanished without a trace, leaving Henry's daughter and her company vulnerable.

When Peter is riding shotgun on another cash run, the cargo he's guarding comes under attack and he narrowly escapes with his life. As the assaults escalate, Peter has to wonder: for criminals this sophisticated, is it really just about the cash?

After finding himself on the defensive for too long, Peter marshals his resources and begins to dig for the truth in a scheme that is bigger--and far more lucrative--than he'd ever anticipated. With so much on the line, his enemy will not give up quietly...and now he has Peter directly in his sights.
Publisher: New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, [2018]
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9780399575631
0399575634
Branch Call Number: PETRIE N
Characteristics: 387 pages ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
IndyPL_ToddG Feb 28, 2019

Pretty darn good entry in the Peter Ash series. Fans of Lee Child, James W. Hall, Thomas Perry, and other such thriller/suspense authors will appreciate the entire series.

s
Suellen1111
Dec 04, 2018

If you are a Harlen Coben, Robert Crais, Robert Parker, Lee Child fan you will enjoy these Nick Petrie books. The main character is likeable. The dialogue is snappy (alert: lots of f-bombs), a love interest is there too. No shortage of action, although it gets a bit confusing & long-winded at times -- I skipped over Dixon's inner dialogue and never missed it. PTSD problems of returning vets works well in the story. Lots of action, including a couple chases and a breathless sequence with a wild ride on an antique gurney. I've thoroughly enjoyed this series & look forward to more.

r
reader7176
Nov 09, 2018

This is the first time I have read a book by Nick Petrie. I found it to be interesting, fast paced and full of action. A great read.

fineplan Apr 23, 2018

A fast and dangerous ride through Denver by a scarred, violently efficient veteran.

Peter is asked to help guard a shipment of legal drug money after the prior shipment vanished. His experience with dangerous situations makes him ideal for the job... But his opponents may be just a little more skilled and a whole lot more crazy.

r
read5000
Apr 11, 2018

Not like a Jack Reacher , more like an teenage special effects movie .

n
NedSu
Feb 14, 2018

Peter Ash is fast becoming my favorite ex military protagonist. While Reacher may be the standard of this genre, Peter does well as a reticent warrior- and he has friends to help him. He is competent yet flawed- the author takes pains to provide him with a PTSD that seems very real but still allows him to function.
In this 3rd book of the series we also get an improving Peter Ash in both his PTSD and in his personal life. The pace is frenetic and the tale gives us a primer in the wild west days of the legal cannibals trade. It moves along nicely and reminds us that Peter Ash is human, too. I'm looking forward to the next Peter Ash tale.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top