The Wild Woman's Guide to Traveling the World

The Wild Woman's Guide to Traveling the World

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Fans of Sophie Kinsella and The Devil Wears Prada will love this smart, sexy debut novel of wanderlust.

Objectively, Sophie is a success: she's got a coveted job at a top consulting firm, a Manhattan apartment, and a passport full of stamps. It isn't quite what she dreamed of when she was a teenager dog-earing pages in exotic travel guides, but it's secure. Then her best friend bails just hours after they arrive in Hong Kong for a girls' trip, and Sophie meets Carson, a free-spirited, globetrotting American artist.

In the midst of their whirlwind vacation romance, Carson invites Sophie to join him on his haphazard journey around the world. While the brief international jaunts she sneaks in between business trips don't feel like enough, Sophie is far too practical to throw away her five-year plan on a whim. Yet Carson's offer forces her to question whether the reliable life she's chosen is really what she wants--and she soon discovers that his feelings for her run deeper than she realized.
Publisher: New York : Center Street, 2017.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781455597536
1455597538
Branch Call Number: ROMANCE ROCKAWAY
Characteristics: 344 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
AConsolver
Sep 06, 2018

3.5 Stars - I recommend if you enjoy travel fiction, contemporary fiction, and romance.

Sophie Bruno is a successful IT consultant in New York City. Her job allows her to travel the globe for work, and sneak away days here and there for fun. When she takes a trip with her girlfriend to Shanghai, and her friend leaves her there alone she decides to make the most of the trip anyway. She meets Carson, another American traveler the same night and they hit it off instantly. Soon she has thrown her carefully plotted itinerary out the window in favor of his spontaneous travel method... and he's moved into her hotel room. When she blows off a work meeting for an adventure, she returns to NYC missing Carson, and in hot water at work. What does she really want from her life? Is business travel with a few stolen days "enough"?

I love a good travel fiction novel. I thought that this one was really fun! I loved the setting, the mix of travel and romance was spot-on. I loved Carson and Sophie, they were so cute and polar opposites. I thought that the romance was really fun and steamy as well. While it was very "insta love" I didn't mind it a bit. I will say, I was hoping for more travel... the middle part of the book is spent "at home" in NYC and it is sort of a struggle for Sophie to figure out what she wants to do with her life. I know that she needed that character development, but there were times when I found her waffling a little bit infuriating. I'm sure IRL it would be hard to make the decisions she was contemplating, so I get it.... but I just wanted a little less. Or I wanted the end portion of the book to be a little longer if that makes sense?

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top