Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3

National Book Award Finalist * Kirkus Best Books of 2017 * Horn Book Best Books of 2017 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2017 * School Library Journal Best Books of 2017 * NAACP Image Awards Nominee * Chicago Public Library Best Books * Boston Globe Best Books of 2017

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen--he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

"This slim novel strikes a strong chord."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart." --School Library Journal (starred review)

"Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase." --The Horn Book (starred review)

"Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words." --Booklist (starred review)

Publisher: New York, NY : Amistad, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062215918
0062215914
Branch Call Number: j F WILLIAMS
Characteristics: 166 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
Additional Contributors: Morrison, Frank 1971-- Illustrator

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
LPL_JennyC Feb 05, 2018

Clayton Byrd idolizes his blues-musician grandfather, Cool Papa. Clayton plays the blues harp, or harmonica, and longs for the day when he’s invited to play a solo with his grandpa’s group. When Cool Papa unexpectedly dies, Clayton’s mother doesn’t understand his feelings of loss and he must go o... Read More »

Nominee, Young People's Literature


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

JCLChrisK Apr 06, 2018

An emotional story of a young man experiencing grief and anger that prompt him to test boundaries and push family relationships. Real and affecting.

LPL_JennyC Feb 05, 2018

Clayton Byrd idolizes his blues-musician grandfather, Cool Papa. Clayton plays the blues harp, or harmonica, and longs for the day when he’s invited to play a solo with his grandpa’s group. When Cool Papa unexpectedly dies, Clayton’s mother doesn’t understand his feelings of loss and he must go on a musical journey to get closure. The writing is vibrant and the story is full of heart. Highly recommended for 10 and up!

martha_w Jun 06, 2017

This book is very good, and it's very good in several different ways: 1. It's a very moving and convincing portrayal of a kid's grief. 2. It portrays an interesting and complex relationship between a mother and a father without feeling the need to resolve it neatly at the end. 3. It's only 160 pages long, but contains a totally satisfying emotional arc for Clayton as he copes with the death of his beloved grandfather. Rita Williams-Garcia is so talented; fans of her previous work will love this.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top