Not Quite Narwhal

Not Quite Narwhal

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
19
In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston , this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.

Growing up in the ocean, Kelp has always assumed that he was a narwhal like the rest of his family. Sure, he's always been a little bit different--his tusk isn't as long, he's not as good of a swimmer, and he really doesn't enjoy the cuisine. Then one night, an extra strong current sweeps Kelp to the surface, where he spots a mysterious creature that looks just like him! Kelp discovers that he and the creature are actually unicorns. The revelation leaves him torn: is he a land narwhal or a sea unicorn? But perhaps, if Kelp is clever, he may find a way to have the best of both worlds.

Told with heartwarming illustrations and spare, sweet text, Jessie Sima's debut picture book is about fitting in, standing out, and the all-encompassing love of family.
Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, [2017]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781481469098
1481469096
Branch Call Number: j P STORIES SIMA J
Characteristics: 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 24 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

2017’s Best New Picture Books

 I’m lucky enough to do storytime here at LPL, and while there are some challenging days of herding toddlers, it is a joy and a privilege to introduce children to literature and catch a small slice of their innocence and wonder. When we started up storytime again this fall, I wanted to try something different: read a handful of random books, held together only by the fact that they were… (more)


From Library Staff

Told with heartwarming illustrations and spare, sweet text, Jessie Sima's debut picture book is about fitting in, standing out, and the all-encompassing love of family.

Unicorns and Narwhals. Nuff Said!

Comment
LPL_LaurenT Sep 11, 2017

SQUEE! A book with narwhals and unicorns? SIGN ME UP! Plus you can’t see it here, but IT HAS SPARKLES GUYS! Kelp the Narwhal (cough… unicorn… cough) is just trying to find his place in the world. He knows he doesn’t fit in with his narwhal buddies, but when he views a strange creature on land, he... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
i
iloveseaotters
Jun 22, 2019

This book is absolutely adorable; both the storyline and the illustrations. Loved every word!

IndyPL_NicoleN Nov 10, 2018

I can't wait to use this book in one of my storytimes. It has humor, bright illustrations, friendship and unconditional love and acceptance.

p
Purrwif
Oct 27, 2018

Prosocial, full of good emotion words, and adoooorable.

EvaELPL Aug 30, 2018

This is rapidly becoming one of my storytime go-to's! It has everything I love to share with kiddos -- a sense of humor, bright and engaging illustrations, interesting vocabulary and concepts (we always have a fun and sometimes silly conversation beforehand asking if anyone knows what a narwhal is), and a sweet message about community and unconditional love.

f
fireboltstorm
Aug 16, 2018

I read this as often as I possibly can in my storytimes! And also to myself ;)

daniellevk_0 Jul 23, 2018

It has great illustrations, both cute and pretty. I like the colorful fish added in with the narwhals. There is a great distinguishing of land narwhals and sea unicorns and I like the description of that. The main character goes on this adventure to find who they are and comes to except both past and present situations and finds a way to keep them both and both sets of friends.

c
CuriousQT
Mar 26, 2018

As a lover of unicorns as a child, I can honestly say this is one of my favourite kids books. Very imaginative and great for little girls.

b
BookEMonster
Feb 03, 2018

Love this book!

LPL_LaurenT Sep 11, 2017

SQUEE! A book with narwhals and unicorns? SIGN ME UP! Plus you can’t see it here, but IT HAS SPARKLES GUYS! Kelp the Narwhal (cough… unicorn… cough) is just trying to find his place in the world. He knows he doesn’t fit in with his narwhal buddies, but when he views a strange creature on land, he realizes he might not be the narwhal he thinks he is. Swoonworthy illustrations with an excellent message, I highly suggest this adorable book.

Mariangela_S Aug 28, 2017

Cute story that promotes individuality and acceptance of everyone.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top