Never End

Never End

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Detective Erik Winter is back, chasing a copycat murderer in a gritty procedural from one of Europe’s most popular crime writers With twelve Erik Winter novels published in countries as diverse as Italy, Norway, France, Japan, Spain, the United Kingdom, and Germany—where the series has sold more than 700,000 copies—it’s only a matter of time before an American readership discovers what Europe has already declared: Åke Edwardson is a European master of the stylish and gritty crime novel.In Never End, the second Erik Winter novel to be translated into English, a heat wave is smothering the Swedish coastal city of Gothenburg. School is out, and parks and beaches are teeming with people. But a spate of unsolved rape/murders casts a disturbing shadow on this particular summer. Chief Inspector Erik Winter, now forty-one and a father, assembles the scant but grisly details of the crimes, and begins to see an eerie connection to a five-year-old unsolved rape/murder, a case he, in typically obsessive fashion, has refused to let go cold. Has the same rapist reemerged to taunt the police and flaunt his stolen freedom, or are these copycat crimes? In the absence of any hard leads, and haunted by the case he could not solve, Winter desperately hunts for a link bridging the victims, convinced that each crime holds the key to the others. Someone knows more than they are letting on, and Winter knows they are running out of time. Never Endis a chilling, moody novel replete with Hitchcockian depictions of Gothenburg’s vibrant summer spaces and seamy dark corners, that will appeal to readers of George Pelecanos and Elizabeth George BACKCOVER: [Erik Winter] promises to be a superior procedural series. —Booklist “Mystery fans on this side of the Atlantic can be grateful that the travails of Erik Winter…are now available in English….This dark police procedural is a topnotch work, suspenseful to the very end, with appealing characters.” —Library Journal “A large ration of suspense, as well as that other reason for enjoying mysteries: an intriguing look at life in a distant part of the world.” —Chicago Tribune “Åke Edwardson is a three-time winner of the Swedish Academy of Crime Writers’ Award and it’s easy to see why. He weaves a rich, psychologically satisfying tale. His writing is nuanced and literary, and his characters are deep and fascinating. …Readers looking for a gritty, well-paced, thoughtful thriller will appreciate Edwardson’s masterful novel.” —I Love A Mystery
Publisher: New York : Viking, 2006.
ISBN: 9780670037667
0670037664
Branch Call Number: M EDWARDSO
Characteristics: 308 pages ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
maipenrai
Apr 20, 2013

*** stars I enjoy this Swedish mystery / police procedural series ( Not as much as I love Wallander and Erlunder, but I am still getting to know Winter). This is the second book in the series. Young women are being murdered and / or raped in a park in Gothenburg. One such incident is separated from the others by several years. Is it the same perpetrator? A copycat? What do the young women have in common that marks them as victims. A mystery right until the end. Recommend. Now, however, I need to follow my own advise to others and go back to read the first book in the series: Sun and Shadow.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top