The Hammer and the Blade

The Hammer and the Blade

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:

For readers of Brent Weeks, Joe Abercrombie, Peter V. Brett, and Scott Lynch comes the first book in a fantastic, hilarious new sword-and-sorcery series that puts a clever new twist on the golden age of epic fantasy.

Robbing tombs for fun and profit might not be a stable career, but Egil and Nix aren't in it for the long-term prospects. Egil is the hammer-wielding warrior-priest of a discredited god. Nix is a roguish thief with just enough knowledge of magic to conjure up trouble. Together, they seek riches and renown, yet often find themselves enlisted in lost causes--generally against their will.

So why should their big score be any different? The trouble starts when Nix and Egil kill the demonic guardian of a long-lost crypt, nullifying an ancient pact made by the ancestors of an obscenely powerful wizard. Now the wizard will stop at nothing to keep that power from slipping away, even if it means freeing a rapacious beast from its centuries-old prison. And who better than Egil and Nix--the ones responsible for his current predicament--to perform this thankless task?

Praise for The Hammer and the Blade and Paul S. Kemp

"A gripping tale [with] the feeling of a classic Dungeons & Dragons campaign." -- Publishers Weekly

"Most heroes work up to killing demons. Egil and Nix start there and pick up the pace." --Elaine Cunningham, author of the Thorn Trilogy

"Kemp delivers sword and sorcery at its rollicking best, after the fashion of Fritz Leiber's Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser." -- Library Journal

Publisher: New York : Del Rey, 2015.
Edition: Del Rey mass market edition.
ISBN: 9781101964958
1101964952
Branch Call Number: FANTASY KEMP P
Characteristics: 338 pages ; 18 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top