Lost Mountain

Lost Mountain

A Year in the Vanishing Wilderness : Radical Strip Mining and the Devastation of Appalachia

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
Publisher: New York : Riverhead Books, 2006.
ISBN: 9781594489082
1594489084
Branch Call Number: 622.292 REECE E
Characteristics: xv, 250 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
b
bell5133
Jan 19, 2019

The book focuses on mountaintop removal in eastern Kentucky. I found it heartbreaking. Anyone who uses electricity should read this book to know what devastation is done to the Earth to give them that electricity.
For accompanying songs, listen to "Paradise" by John Fogerty and "Last Resort" by the Eagles.

l
lukasevansherman
Aug 07, 2017

"When they want you to die for profit they will let you know."-Wendell Berry
When most people hear Appalachia, they probably think bucolic forests, folk music, and scenic hiking. But there's something much darker and more destructive going on, which Erik Reece explores in this book, which mixes reportage, personal essay, and nature writing in the tradition of Edward Abbey and Wendell Berry, who contributes the introduction. Reece chronicles the profitable and harmful process of mountain removal, which literally takes the top off a mountain to uncover the coal underneath. As he makes clear, these mountains, forests, and streams that are harmed are never recovering. It's an impassioned and eye-opening book. Reece is from Kentucky, so he has a personal connection to the land. As our president tries to continue our dependence on coal, this is a necessary read.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top