Mirror in the Sky

Mirror in the Sky

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
Another Earth meets Perks of Being a Wallflower in this thoughtful, mesemerizing debut and subject of a TedX talk about the discovery of a mirror planet to Earth and how it dramatically changes the course of one Indian-American girl's junior year.

" [O]ne of the most powerful reads of the year. A novel about family, race, and discovering who you are, Mirror in the Sky promises a unique read that blends YA contemporary struggles with imaginative science fiction."
-- Paste Magazine

For Tara Krishnan, navigating Brierly, the academically rigorous prep school she attends on scholarship, feels overwhelming and impossible. Her junior year begins in the wake of a startling discovery: A message from an alternate Earth, light years away, is intercepted by NASA. This means that on another planet, there is another version of Tara, a Tara who could be living better, burning brighter, because of tiny differences in her choices.

The world lights up with the knowledge of Terra Nova, the mirror planet, and Tara's life on Earth begins to change. At first, small shifts happen, like attention from Nick Osterman, the most popular guy at Brierly, and her mother playing hooky from work to watch the news all day. But eventually those small shifts swell, the discovery of Terra Nova like a black hole, bending all the light around it.

As a new era of scientific history dawns and Tara's life at Brierly continues its orbit, only one thing is clear: Nothing on Earth--or for Tara--will ever be the same again.
Publisher: New York : Razorbill, an imprint of Penguin Random House, [2016]
ISBN: 9781595148568
1595148566
Branch Call Number: YA KHORANA
Characteristics: 334 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
rene1951
Jul 27, 2017

There is a movie, I can't remember the title (didn't like it) with exactly the same premise but from an adult male point of view. This seems more interesting.

a
akzfineart
Apr 26, 2017

This won't be a very detailed review, more a recommendation and why this book is so important.

So I'm really sad this has such a low average rating on Goodreads but at the same time I'm not surprised. I think I may have misinterpreted the synopsis or something because when this book became more contemporary than sci-fi (what I was really interested in), I had to set it down/read it in-between other books. The sci-fi aspect is still a very big part of this book but it's not the focus. If you want to read this because of the sci-fi element and not the contemporary you won't like it. I'm still going to recommend MIRROR IN THE SKY to everyone because this book is so, so important! Don't just write it off as "high school angst" - MIRROR IN THE SKY is so invaluable to teen and young adult readers. This is OwnVoices for an Indian MC; the main character is biracial but I'm not sure if that is also OwnVoices.

So many important topics/themes are covered: the pressure placed on teens to get good grades, join a fair amount of clubs/do extracurricular activities, work or support your family, make a decision/career choice that will impact your entire future at a very young age (16/17); peer pressure, bullying, racism, micro-aggressions, tokenism, misogyny. Finding yourself and just fitting in. Khorana creates a very authentic voice in her main character, Tara as well as her friends and family - it never felt like the author was introducing too much to the reader. There were so many things I could relate to, having experienced them when I was a teen and even as a young adult.

Khorana's writing is incredibly beautiful! As the novel progresses and Tara experiences new things, some good and some bad, the narrator [Tara] talks about these events with such wisdom. They're the kind of lines you find yourself quoting over and over again because they're so beautiful and memorable. For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.

h
heidihui
Dec 05, 2016

Good character development but abrupt ending.

r
rosebud2112
Aug 05, 2016

Parts of this ring true...the pressures of high school, negotiating relationships, the impact of changing relationships. I was having a hard time believing, though, that the discovery of another planet with mirrored lives would precipitate the changes that it did in this book.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top