What the Waves Know

What the Waves Know

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

In the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd and Beth Hoffman comes a compelling debut novel about a young woman's quest to find herself--and her voice--on the island where she lost both.

The tiny state of Rhode Island is home to even tinier Tillings Island--which witnessed the biggest event of Izabella Rae Haywood's life. For it was there, on Iz's sixth birthday, that her father left...and took her voice with him.

Eight years later in the summer of 1974, Iz's mother is through with social workers, psychiatrists and her daughter's silence. In one last attempt to return Iz's voice, the motley pair board the ferry to Tillings in hopes that the journey will help Izabella heal herself by piecing together splintered memories of the day her words fled.

But heartbreak is a difficult puzzle to solve, and everyone in Tillings seems to know something Iz does not. Worse, each has an opinion about Izabella's dreamer of a father, the undercurrents of whose actions have spun so many lives off course.

Now, as the island's annual Yemay#65533; festival prepares to celebrate the ties that bind mothers to children, lovers to each other, and humankind to the sea, Izabella must unravel the tangled threads of her own history and reclaim a voice gone silent...or risk losing herself--and any chance she may have for a future--to the past.

What the Waves Know is a moving, magical novel that asks us to consider the stories which tell the truth and the stories we tell ourselves.

Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2016.
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9780062413857
0062413856
Branch Call Number: VALENTIN
813.6
Characteristics: 326, 10 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
Reads_A_Lot
Mar 25, 2016

The author described it best: this is a book about voice and silence, memory and the lack of it, mistakes and redemption. A good coming of age mystery told by 14 yr old Izabella who stopped speaking when she was 6. Includes an interesting cast of characters - gotta love the mouth on Remy and the free spirit of Grandma Jo. Also liked the setting of a small New England island in the early 1970's.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top