Unabrow

Unabrow

Misadventures of A Late Bloomer

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
Growing up, Una LaMarche was as smart as she was awkward. She was blessed with a precocious intellect, a love of all things pop-culture and a seriously bushy monobrow. Adversity (and plucking) made her stronger and funnier, and now Una has written a hilarious take on the coming-of-age genre by doling out all the advice she wishes her mother had given her. Described as the literary lovechild of Nora Ephron (who wrote When Harry Met Sally) and Jenny Lawson (infamous blogger at The Bloggess), LaMarche is sure to find a receptive audience in anyone who likes to laugh.
Publisher: New York, New York : Plume, 2015.
ISBN: 9780142181447
0142181447
Branch Call Number: 306.8743 LAMARCHE
Characteristics: xv, 249 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

044: Oh My Stars, It’s Bookstrology!

Hey listeners, what's your sign? Your BOOK sign, that is! We took the "Universe of Stories" summer reading theme and astrologified it... or bookstrologified? Either way, check out this episode for a ton of recommendations, even if you're on the cusp!  Bookish News: Edwidge Danticat, who came to KU last year, returns to stories in her highly anticipated upcoming collection, Everything… (more)


From Library Staff

Comment
LPL_PolliK Apr 20, 2015

This book had me laughing so hard that my family had to come in and check to make sure I was okay. Fans of Tina Fey, Caitlin Moran and Amy Poehler, check this one out!


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
multcolib_darceem Oct 02, 2015

Tina, Lena, Una! Una LaMarche's self-deprecating humor fits right in with other funny feminist authors. A quick and often hilarious read that will appeal to 30-something-ish new mothers in particular (says this 40-something, still sort of newish mother).

Cynthia_N Sep 17, 2015

Yes the eyebrow is real! LaMarche is hilarious!

v
vv9
Aug 08, 2015

I laughed out loud a few times with Una LaMarche. Compared to some of the foul-mouthed female comedy writers putting out books, this is pretty wholesome, self-deprecating humor.
What a great cover photo! And what great parenting she must have received to emerge from that unibrow with a strong sense of self.
The writer is smart and clever, and the book moves quickly.

LPL_PolliK Apr 20, 2015

This book had me laughing so hard that my family had to come in and check to make sure I was okay. Fans of Tina Fey, Caitlin Moran and Amy Poehler, check this one out!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top