El Deafo

El Deafo

Graphic Novel - 2014
Average Rating:
53
7
1
 …
Rate this:
The author recounts in graphic novel format her experiences with hearing loss at a young age, including using a bulky hearing aid, learning how to lip read, and determining her "superpower."
"Going to school and making new friends can be tough. But going to school and making new friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid strapped to your chest? That requires superpowers! In this funny, poignant graphic novel memoir, author/illustrator Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a very powerful--and very awkward--hearing aid. The Phonic Ear gives Cece the ability to hear--sometimes things she shouldn't--but also isolates her from her classmates. She really just wants to fit in and find a true friend, someone who appreciates her as she is. After some trouble, she is finally able to harness the power of the Phonic Ear and become "El Deafo, Listener for All." And more importantly, declare a place for herself in the world and find the friend she's longed for"-- from publisher's web site.
Publisher: New York : Amulet Books, 2014.
ISBN: 9781419712173
1419712179
Branch Call Number: j GN EL DEAFO
Characteristics: 233 pages : color illustrations ; 24 cm
Alternative Title: El deafo.

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
LPL_MeredithW Oct 07, 2017

Funny and charming, with cute art and a very thought-provoking afterword. Recommended!

An illness leaves Cece with extreme hearing loss. She has to wear a huge device called a Phonic Ear so she can hear her teacher in class and people talk to her in exaggerated and annoying ways. In order to overcome these challenges Cece must become the superhero El Deafo! This graphic novel is a ... Read More »

Cece loses most of her hearing at age four. A powerful- and very large- hearing aid helps her hear but can also isolate Cece from classmates. Will Cece find where she belongs? Maybe El Deafo can help!


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

GeeksInTheLibrary Oct 17, 2017

The author's story of growing up with hearing loss, and her unique (one might even say "super") way of dealing with it. Good for anybody who loved Wonder by R. J. Palacio or who likes stories of kids overcoming difficulties to become even better.

j
Jennypa815
Oct 17, 2017

So Good!!!!!!

LPL_MeredithW Oct 07, 2017

Funny and charming, with cute art and a very thought-provoking afterword. Recommended!

k
katebus
Sep 05, 2017

My 8-year old son was reluctant to read it because it seemed sad, but then read it 2 or 3 times in a row and took it with him on vacation. It's a great book, well drawn and written. More hopeful and funny than sad. Recommended to all.

Bhulsey Aug 29, 2017

Read this graphic novel because it was the winner of the Pacific Northwest Library Association (PNLA) Young Readers Choice Award (YRCA) for 2017. I'm glad I did because it is an amazing story about accepting your differences and a window into how to communicate and treat others who are differently abled.

JCLBeckyC Aug 21, 2017

Readalikes: Raina Telgmeier, Ann M. Martin, Holly Goldberg Sloan

w
white_bear_575
Aug 14, 2017

😀

AL_CODY Jul 27, 2017

After losing her hearing early in life, Cece must struggle with learning how to use hearing aids in order to get through life and school. Based on the author's childhood, this book is great for kids and adults a like!

b
breezybaby101
Jul 18, 2017

I loved this book it was sooooo amazing. It was really funny, sad, and happy. i would definitely recommend this to everyone. not only was it an amazing book but I also learned a bit. for example, I didn't know that hearing aids used to be boxes with two ear buds.

LUV IT!!!! <3

n
nastyaloots
Jun 23, 2017

El Deafo is a great book from a childs perspective. It will always remain my favorite graphic novel of all time and the story will make you cry and laugh. This book gives you a full perspective how a deaf person lives there everyday life. Totally recommend it!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

b
blue_cat_14735
Jun 07, 2017

blue_cat_14735 thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

CorteMaderaStaff_Judi thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

e
ehrenkranz
Nov 27, 2016

ehrenkranz thinks this title is suitable for 6 years and over

r
red_buffalo_255
Feb 20, 2016

red_buffalo_255 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 10 and 99

a
AwesomeIsha
Nov 13, 2015

AwesomeIsha thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and under

g
ginbubs
Aug 28, 2015

ginbubs thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

LookSeeTry Feb 15, 2015

LookSeeTry thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 5 and 10

Summary

Add a Summary

e
ehrenkranz
Nov 27, 2016

When the author Cece Bell was 4 yrs. old, she lost her hearing and became deaf. In this book, it shows Cece from Kindergarten all the way till 5th grade and about her loss of hearing, her friends, how she felt and much more! i think this is a wonderful book and it's worth reading.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top