In the Wolf's Mouth

In the Wolf's Mouth

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
1

A new novel by the author Julian Barnes called "one of the best British writers to emerge in the last decade"

Set in North Africa and Sicily at the end of World War II, In the Wolf's Mouth follows the Allies' botched "liberation" attempts as they chased the Nazis north toward the Italian mainland. Focusing on the experiences of two young soldiers--Will Walker, an English field security officer, ambitious to master and shape events; and Ray Marfione, a wide-eyed Italian American infantryman--the novel contains some of the best battle writing of the past fifty years. Eloquent on the brutish, blundering inaccuracy of war, the immediacy of Adam Foulds's prose is uncanny and unforgettable.
The book also explores the continuity of organized crime in Sicily through the eyes of two men--Angilù, a young shepherd; and Cirò Albanese, a local Mafioso. These men appear in the prologue and in the book's terrifying final chapters, making it evident that the Mafia were there before and are there still, the slaughter of war only a temporary distraction.
In the Wolf's Mouth has achieved an extraordinary resurrection, returning humanity to the lives lost in the writing of history.

Publisher: New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2014.
Edition: First American edition.
ISBN: 9780374175825
0374175829
Branch Call Number: FOULDS A
Characteristics: 323 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
u
uncommonreader
Jul 30, 2018

Although well-written, the four narratives in this novel did not come together in a meaningful way.

ChristchurchLib Jul 24, 2014

The author of the Booker-shortlisted The Quickening Maze returns with a new novel. Set in Sicily and North Africa during the final days of World War II, it follows three different men: a university-educated British officer who discovers that logic and reason have no place on the battlefield; a sensitive American soldier ill-equipped for the horrors of combat; and an Italian-born translator for the Allies who has a secret agenda beyond that of aiding the war-effort. With its complex characters and interconnected narratives that unfold against a gritty wartime backdrop, this novel may appeal to fans of Michael Ondaatje's The English Patient or Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See.
Historical Fiction July 2014 Newsletter.

Age

Add Age Suitability
n
nafeesrawji
Nov 08, 2014

nafeesrawji thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top