The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris

The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
"Sheer indulgence from start to finish." - Sophie Kinsella

Anna Trent may be a supervisor in a chocolate factory...but that doesn't necessarily mean she knows how to make chocolate. So when a fateful accident gives her the opportunity to work at Paris's elite chocolatier Le Chapeau Chocolat, Anna expects to be outed as a fraud.

After all, there is a world of difference between chalky, mass-produced English chocolate and the gourmet confections Anna's new boss creates.

But with a bit of luck and a lot of patience, Anna might learn that the sweetest things in life are always worth working for.

A heartwarming, bittersweet story of life, love and chocolate, fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Weiner and Jill Mansell will be craving sweets along with this tale of love lost and found.

Other books by Jenny Colgan:
Meet Me At The Cupcake Café - "A hilarious, fast-paced fantasy about starting over, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Absolutely adorable." - Booklist
The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris - A heartwarming and bittersweet story of love lost and found
Sweetshop of Dreams - A charming story of nostalgic sweets and finding yourself in unexpected places

What readers are saying about The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris:

"This is a story about food and love, yes... It is so much more than that, however."

"What I really loved was the vivid description of Paris. I almost felt like I was there, sitting on that terrace and enjoying the view of the city."

"a fantastically written book that will get those taste buds dancing"

"Romance + chocolate + Parisian backdrop sounds like a recipe for a good love story to me."

"an homage to La bohème... Moulin Rouge and part of Rent... At the very heart of this novel is bohemian Paris."

What reviewers are saying about The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris:

"both believable and funny, while the Parisian setting makes this story practically irresistible." - Shelf Awareness Reader

"This cross-generational story is as irresistible as Colgan's portrayal of Paris itself-and all things chocolate. " - Publishers Weekly

"Heartwarming and funny..." -Booklist

"will have you laughing one moment and crying the next... will entertain you at every turn." - RT Book Reviews

"A taleof two Englishwomen in Paris, of love lost and found... Gently and lovingly done." - Dear Author

What everyone is saying about Jenny Colgan:

"[A] heartwarming story a la Bridget Jones' Diary... Colgan folds in a colorful cast of characters and whips up an easy, sweet read." - USA Today

"Absolutely adorable... charming... an endearing, delightful read"- Silver's Reviews

Publisher: Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Landmark, an imprint of Sourcebooks, Inc., [2014]
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781402284403
1402284403
Branch Call Number: COLGAN J
Characteristics: vi, 374 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
LauraSteinert
Aug 24, 2018

For all women who dream of Paris! Anna is a bit dull, but she is surrounded by a cast of eclectic characters who do their best to make her more interesting and to break out of her self-pity rut. There are two romances in this book, "now" and 1972, which keeps it lively and light. (Romance not lusty heaving and throbbing.) Quick read if you are not into the mystique of Paris, or wonderfully long descriptions of sights, sound, and flavors of the world's most romantic city if its on your bucket list.

p
paula_wagenerlutz
Jul 11, 2018

The perfect fluffy summer read! I especially loved the setting. If you've ever visited Paris, it's also a beautiful homage to that lovely city.

t
talk2terih
May 16, 2018

Has there ever been a young woman who didn't dream of visiting Paris and falling in love? But, as this story shows us, it isn't always as lovely and carefree as a romance novel might have you believe. Two English women make a summer visit to Paris, 40 years apart. They are different, the world is different, but in both instances Paris changes them on a very deep level. Their common denominator is an extraordinary chocolate shop where the confections made are perfection, made with love, respect, and artistry.
The present and the past come together briefly for a poignant and heartfelt ending. I defy you to make it through the ending without a tear in your eye or a lump in your throat.

v
veggiegurl
Nov 10, 2017

Friendship, romance, chocolate and Paris. It is the making of a great story. This is a relaxing feel good type of book.

samdog123 Jul 24, 2015

A lovely, frothy read for the summer! As someone I know said, "this book makes you feel like you're right there in Paris!"

s
susanlovesbooks
Oct 17, 2014

What's not to like about a book that takes place in a chocolate shop in Paris? But it's not exactly what you expect...Beneath the surface it's a story about lost love and true love, building a new life and completing your life, as well as the importance of good quality in all areas of life. The friendship between the elderly Claire and the young Anna and the way their stories parallel each other is intriguing and sweet. I enjoyed every minute of it.

LaughingOne May 31, 2014

I enjoyed reading about Paris, and working in chocolate factories and shops, and I enjoyed the somewhat parallel stories of Anna and Claire. I stayed up late to finish this novel as I kept wanting to know what was going to happen next. But the recipes advertised on the front cover -- they are not on par with fine chocolates. I don't think they belong in the back of this novel. Using a microwave to melt chocolate ... rice crispies in a recipe ... sacrilege!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top