Night Film

Night Film

A Novel

Unknown - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
NEW YORK TIMES  BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR * Cosmopolitan * Kirkus Reviews * BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy--the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.
 
On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley's life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova--a man who hasn't been seen in public for more than thirty years.
 
For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova's dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.
 
Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova's eerie, hypnotic world.
 
The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.
 
Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.

Praise for Night Film
 
" Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl's deft touch with character." --Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review
 
"Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination." --Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review
 
"Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You'll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on." -- The Washington Post
 
"Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner." -- USA Today
 
"Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new." -- The Boston Globe
 
"Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense." -- Entertainment Weekly
 
"A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that's equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there's some secret detail that will snap everything into focus." -- New York
 
"Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl's own Night Film as well." -- Vanity Fair
Publisher: New York : Random House, [2013]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781400067886
140006788X
Branch Call Number: PESSL M
Characteristics: xv, 602 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

A young woman, a piano protégée, is found dead at the bottom of a warehouse. She is Ashley Cordova, the daughter of the infamous director Stanislas Cordova, a man whose life may be just as twisted and surreal as his controversial films. Ashley's death is ruled a suicide, but investigative journal... Read More »

Comment
LPL_KimberlyL Mar 16, 2016

This novel introduces the reader to the world of Stanislas Cordova--a film director known for his cerebral and disturbing movies. Much like the plots of his films, this book makes the characters question their sanity and keeps the reader wondering what's really going on. What sets this book apart... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
LPL_KimberlyL Mar 16, 2016

This novel introduces the reader to the world of Stanislas Cordova--a film director known for his cerebral and disturbing movies. Much like the plots of his films, this book makes the characters question their sanity and keeps the reader wondering what's really going on. What sets this book apart from others in the genre is the format--told partially in illustrations that show news articles, website searches, police reports, and so much more. Because of this format, you truly feel as if you are a part of Scott McGrath's investigative team, and you get to solve the mystery as new evidence is presented. Thrilling, creepy, and dark, this one is a perfect addition to the psychological thriller/horror genre. Pro tip: Download the app created for this book to have a truly unique reading experience.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at LPL.

Try searching for Night Film to see if LPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top